Survived the weekend!

8 Oct

So I have survived the weekend with minimal bad eating. After talking to a friend who had successfully trained for her first bikini competition (and got 5th place) woohoo! She told me i should really incorporate a meal where I can feel free to eat what I want if it’s have a drink, eat a sandwich something so that I do not feel serious anxiety when going out to eat.  So Friday I did have 1 drink and went out to eat but I had the burger without the bun and a side of veggies.  I really don’t want to eat crap.  I want to see results and the last few months I had cheat weekends and look at my weight in page and you will see how far that got me *cough* no where * cough*

Anywho I tried some new recipes this weekend.

Paleo Banana Bread:

photo.JPGMy review: FAIL. I hated it, my boyfriend spit it out…and the remaining 4/5 of the loaf which you see here graced the trash can :(.  Sorry, couldn’t eat it…it tasted nothing like real banana bread I couldn’t find one reason why I would ever put it in my mouth a second time.

Spaghetti Squash with homemade sauce

photo.JPG

My review:  AMAZING.  Absolutely delicious.  My boyfriend licked the plate, we were both very full after.  He complimented me on the dish again this morning and asked if I was going to eat all the sauce while he’s gone the next three days on business LOL!  I just ate some left over sauce as a “chili” with some Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top and it was just as filling and didn’t taste much different then chili.

Shrimp Skilled

My review: I forgot to take pictures of and it also came out good.  I seasoned the shrimp over night in a lemon/garlic mixture and the shrimp tasted good.  I think the lack of anything but shrimp and veggies made it hard to get full off of.  We were both scrounging for a snack a few hours later.

But eating wise I’d give the weekend a 7!   Today is my first day of p90x

I am so excited but definitely ready to be sore!  I am in pretty good shape but pullups I don’t normally incorporate in my workouts and today’s workout is chest and back which are two places I don’t tend to work a lot so I am going to be VERY sore after today.  I’m excited to do it in a group setting to push me harder and hold me accountable and to have trainers be able to do the same and correct me on any form.  I did my beginning measurements, weigh in and fit test at the gym.  My weigh in was 201lbs.  I was fully clothes holding keys and wearing sneakers but still seeing 200 lbs on the scale was a huge eye opener. 

For anyone else who does p90x they do have an app now where you can write down your progress in the fit tests, track food, do before and after pictures, etc.  I think it’s only on the iphone but a nice thing to download!

2 Responses to “Survived the weekend!”

  1. NaturesComplete October 8, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    This is such a good post!

    You can still cheat while dieting. And I like that you took out the bun and still got to enjoy a burger! I’ve been too scared to drink alcohol because it might screw up my diet. When you drink, your liver is working too hard to process out the alcohol that your body just absorbs all of the calories and it goes straight to your belly… hence the term “Beer Belly”… But I admire your determination, especially trying to find healthy recipes that work for you!

    Good luck 🙂

    • Fitnessshewrote October 8, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      I know about the alcohol I’m trying to ween myself off. Being a 24 year old that just moved to a big city it’s so hard to not have a few drinks on the weekend and enjoy my time and go out with friends! I’m trying to find a balance…aren’t we all 🙂

Leave a Reply

